17
Jan
09

How Peace Protestors have made peace an impossibility

They drove returning Vietnam vets from the lighted areas, forcing them to hold court for decades, only with those who shared their experience. The ”Make Love Not War” movement warped the reality of the world, twisting it into blissful visions of half-naked, twirling children of Aquarius who believed they’d caught a glimpse of a reality truer than this one, while chasing White Rabbits and living on Lisurgic Acid.

A generation of our young men returned from Saigon to find a country that had abandoned them and labeled them baby-killers. It was great fun for the Aquarians, the feeling of utter self-righteousness. They’d taken up their cause, not for America, not to protect our soldiers, but for themselves. They didn’t like this world, because they’d refused to accept that life is pain. So they quelled the pain that is so obvious, with drugs and feelings of ideological superiority, trashing cities, rioting, lighting fires, committing acts of terrorism against federal institutions–all in the name of peace.

These folks are still around to some measure, though much less animated. Blogs allow them to vent. But in many ways they’re the same, in that the refuse to see the world as it is, and how it will always be. By their hyperbolic rhetoric and impossible demands, they paralyze even the candidates they put in office. Or their demands are so preposterous, that no party would make their ideologies part of the party-line. Not for long anyways.

By transposing their fantastic views of how the world should be, over the reality of how it really is, the Peace Monger increases suffering. He breaks bread with mass-murderers, if only to prove his world-views are real.  The hateful rhetoric and mantric labels (fascist, baby-killer, War Monger) bears no relation to history. Paul Wolfowitz, for example, in the beginnings of the Iraq War was met by howling crowds calling him a Nazi or Fascist. None of these Neo-Aquarians knew probably, that almost all of Wolfowitz’ family died in the holocaust.

The Aquarians are about to take a huge blow. Obama’s election has no doubt quelled some of the animus. But when realities set in, and US troops are shipped overseas to do the killing that sometimes needs to be done, the Golden Boy will tarnish like metals of the ancient warrior: Iron and bronze.

12 Responses to “How Peace Protestors have made peace an impossibility”


  1. 1 kernunos
    January 19, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    The real truth is that protesters do not want peace. They would have to go out and get a job. I am sure they would find some new cause though like desegregating mustard and ketchup packets or the needless killing of sesame seeds to make a bun look good.

  2. 2 beeha
    January 24, 2009 at 7:17 am

    Thought I’d drop in and say hello, check out your new look, even if I do not find new thoughts.
    I have to say you are startin’ to sound same-ole, same-ole, Magus. You’re much too young for that, but perhaps it is the duties, the jobs and the experiences they have given you in life. You are a cross (quite common) between a cynic and a romantic; they generally go hand in hand.

    I fear there is no explaining anything to you; no light other than your own that you can see … let the rest be damned. Even the new design of your site projects and reflects this.

    Oh, well. Oh, my. I tried. I failed. Most, if not all, would. But, best to you Magus in your affairs, in your life.

    If you’d like a little comic relief – yup, just plain silliness and fun, come on over to 2cob – http://2cob.wordpress.com and have a look and a read at the, as of now, latest post: “Now for some laughs…!” I’m truly interested in hearing what you think about it, that is, whether you got any laughs from it. Pure and simple laughs…let me know, would ya?

    Best,

    -beeha ;; http://2cob.wordpress.com ;; 2crazyoldbitches

  3. 3 beeha
    January 24, 2009 at 7:19 am

    p.s. U really got the Magus colors goin’ on too. Hmmm… Netherworld and all that. hmmmm

    – beeha …… http://2cob.wordpress.com

  4. 4 beeha
    January 24, 2009 at 7:20 am

    pps — take in some SUNLIGHT

    – beeha http://2cob.wordpress.com

  5. January 24, 2009 at 8:51 am

    hmmm…. methinks u edited out my long one…hmmm … the power of the magus

    – beeha ;; http://2cob.wordpress.com

    no laughs, either ? how sad (:

  6. January 24, 2009 at 10:24 am

    It seems that you’ve latched onto the articles that I’ve recently written, and assumed that’s all I have to say about the world. If you go back through my archives, you’ll find I have many opinions on many different subjects, not just war, which happens to be in the headlines now, and is of concern to me as it’s part of my job to watch and analyze events around the world.

    Sorry beeha, but WordPress is the haunt of people who generally don’t think like I do. I like it that way. If I wanted to point out things to people who already agree with me, I’d go post on the National Review Online–but that’s too easy. I like a challenge. But apparently few others like challenges, only populism. They like having people come on their blogs and tell them how much they agree with them. Hey, that’s fine, but sometimes we have to think outside the box and that’s what I try to do. I realize that 90% of life’s answers lay within the “box”, but the other 10% can give us the advantage.

    I take pride in being able to hold two opposing views in my head, but not always giving those views equal value, which is being fake and pretentious. I also take pride in always giving those who do not agree with me on most issues credit when their thoughts are on-target. It starts to look like a grown-up version of “Our Gang” when one side picks as everything–no matter the realities–that someone of the opposite political pole says or does. That’s what the Democrats did to George Bush, and it started to look really foolish to me after 9-11. Just really, really petty.

    For instance, you’ll find me quoting, agreeing with and enjoying much of what Nietzsche wrote. Nietzsche: The man who hated Christianity. Who’s my favorite philospher? Arthur Shopenhaur. Ayn Rand had a lot of good things (as well as bad) to say. She was a die-hard atheist.

    My screen name Magus, has nothing to do with the Underworld. It’s based on the title of a novel, which I think is one of the best ever written; John Fowles: The Magus. Yes, that John Fowles, atheist, progressive and left-wing, John Fowles. But, I admit, a very talented writer though a little purple in his writing. My writing style is similar to his and he had a great influence on me through his novel, The Magus. The book’s not for everyone though and I’m sure many would be surprised that I like it, were they to read the thing, given what they think is my world-view.

    Oh-yeah, one of my other favorite writers. Kurt Vonnegut. He wouldn’t agree with me on much, either.

    You’ll have to excuse me for getting little sunlight. I’m in Germany and it’s winter.

    You’ve misjudged me. I’m really rather churlish.I like keeping people off-balance. Seems I’ve succeeded.

  7. January 24, 2009 at 11:48 am

    No editing here. I enjoy playing a version of Left-Wing pin-cusion. Only haters from Helium.com get edited.

  8. January 25, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    I’m back — check out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nalo_Hopkinson – another black female science fiction and fantasy writer.

    I’ve actually gone through a lot of your stuff and you do write on different subjects, for sure – some of which intereste me, some of which don’t. My first comment on your site was to a post about older athletes and eating right and being able to do in your 40s and 50s what 20 and 30 year olds could do; all about the protein and the slow acting carbohydrates, etc. – I agreed with you! Ooops, guess I wasn’t supposed to.

    In all seriousness, though, there is a brutish stubbornish to your recurring themes; call it churlish, I prefer intractable –which was my main point, but whatever.

    You never told me whether you got a laugh…just a laugh from the 2cob JC Penny – NOw for a laugh post. No laugh?

    I never could get into Kurt Vonnegut or Ann Rand – the writing just wasn’t “good” enough for me. John Fowles I never read…never took an interest – and he’s very much interested in the “deep” underside of things, if you will. Maybe I’ll give him a go…don’t know how far I’ll get.

    But I read Mark Twain forever, and Edgar Allan Poe, Walt Whitman, William Carlos Williams.

    I highly recommend you read the book IN THE AMERICAN GRAIN by William Carlos Williams – now there’s an example of “you may not agree” but the writing and its actions and what it embodies are so good – you stay with it. And actually, I think you’d agree with much of what he has to say about American History. It is not a history book, per se – not like any with which you are familiar – I can guarantee you that. Another book I think a must read for you — and not long at all (nor is IN THE AMERICAN GRAIN) is TYPHOON , by Joseph Conrad; yes, most of literate, reading types are familiar with Conrad’s “Heart of Darkness” and “Secret Sharer” … and they certainly should be read, but TYPHOON is Conrad’s masterpiece; a book, like IN THE AMERICAN GRAIN, that no one should go through life without reading. Give them a try. Let me know what you think.

    As to the rest of what you say and think about yourself, so be it; you are entitled to your beliefs. I’ll keep coming back, because you are one form a muse for me – I have a name for it, but it’s private – and not published yet, so I will let that out of the back when the time comes…it’s nothing bad; it’s good.

    Until next time then, Magus

    best, from

    -beeha ;; http://2cob.wordpress.com ;; 1 of 2 crazyoldbitches

  9. January 26, 2009 at 10:20 am

    IMO, Conrad’s best book is The Secret Agent. Everyone should read it because it speaks about many things that are going on today, in the way that only Conrad could speak of them. Oh-and it was Ronald Reagan’s favorite book, too. That should drive some Obama fans away….

    Intractable–Merriam Webster’s: 2 not easily manipulated or wrought

  10. January 26, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    yes dear, calm down – you’ll find intractable is just another word for churlish … words are things of beauty and finding the right one acts of beauty….

    not a competition – u can like Conrad’s Secret Agent or Secret Sharerer? … at any rate – have you read Conrad’s TYPHOON? … Just a humble suggestion…don’t get your pants all wrapped up about it….

    Best,

    -beeha ;; http://2cob.wordpress.com

  11. January 26, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    I have not read Typhoon, but I like Conrad a lot so I’ll check it out.
    I’m not even wearing pants at the moment, so there’s no chance of them getting wrapped up in anything.

    No, I think I’ll stick with intractable–the definition given above fits me perfectly…

  12. January 27, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    oh, so you like intractable — u mean we agree on something — oh, no, mr bill! ha! I, dear, which I think you are aware and was being a bit silly with me – good! — was the one who prefered intractable – if you look up churlish, which I did – and, afterwhich, you did – intractable is right there: I think you noted, #2 in Websters.

    Yes, intractable, is, I believe, the better word for you – but, oh my, you can be churlish, too — especially when caught with your pants down, oops, I meant, no I didn’t, with your pants off.

    I like Conrad, too — another similarity, we had better watch out; so I’m glad to hear you will check out Typhoon – a quick yet penetrable read.

    I hear nothing from you on the other book I suggested: In the American Grain, by William Carlos Williams – trust me, just another time, — it is not to be missed. Mr Williams wrote in the early 20th century; he was doctor – as in one who made house calls – and he lived in Patterson, NJ – and he had exposure to all kinds of people…I’ll leave it at that; except to say that he is best known for his poetry – and a brilliant poet he was. But this is the book – and as is so often of words of worth- it did not get any attention until well after his death; matter of fact the Canadians took notice first and were the first to publish it; but it is A New Directions Paperback, and widely available now…think Amazon.com

    As usual, a pleasure, no matter sometimes a strange one, speaking / writing you Magus

    Until next time ….

    Best

    – beeha ;; http://2cob.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 148,672 hits

Flickr Photos


