08
Jan
09

500 Hindu Squats in 15 minutes…

Well, 510, actually.

The author of Combat Conditioning, Matt Furey, says that when you can do 500 Hindu Squats, you’re on your way to greatness. I decided to try to reach that goal, about a week and a half ago. Last night, I pulled off 510 in 15 minutes. I did the extra ten just in case I’d conveniently miscounted.

Anyone else attempting this should be warned: Start with a low number, and slowly build up over a period of weeks. the muscle soreness you’re going to experience will be horrendous, otherwise, and you’ll become discouraged. Because I have practiced these before and because I started out with much lower numbers (I’d do 100 on some days, then on others about 300) I’m experiencing very little muscle soreness today.

This is an exercise that is centuries old, used by Indian wrestlers to build strength, endurance and toughness.

6 Responses to “500 Hindu Squats in 15 minutes…”


  1. 1 Mike Rozos
    January 10, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Oh, boy!

    Leon Panetta.

    Lots of California politics. Tons of Clinton cronyism. Enough to make sure he’ll never regard any intelligence’s true value, only its political merit.

    A smart, charismatic, and exceptionally intelligent guy, to be sure. And Italian!

    But head of the CIA? Oh my God!

    I hope he truly executes the role of a distant management executive, and nothing more.

    Hey, could John Baldacci be Secretary of Defense?

    He’s also smart, charismatic, and Italian!

    Those seem to be the prerequisites…

    Hey, what about me?

    What do I get to be?

  2. 2 Mike Rozos
    January 10, 2009 at 3:35 am

    Well, I seem to have misplaced my comment.

    So, ummmm, how many hindu squats do you think Leon can do? If he cuts down on the liquor for a week, I say ten. OK, maybe twelve!

    He did spend a [very] short tour in the army, so maybe there is some PT left in him.

  3. 3 Josef Roubal
    January 10, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Dear Doug,
    I found by a pure luck the “More adventure in SC” blog. Thank you for posting such a nice article about me. Then I read many of your blogs and I like all of them. Your opinion about President Bush is positive and so is mine. I wrote an article about him and I would like to publish it before he leaves the Office, but I do not know how to do it. I started a blog CCC909.blogspot.com but I do not know how to promote it.
    If you find time, take a look and give me an advice how to edit and publish the first and the last entries please. (Iraq war from…, and Democrats and .. )
    Thank you very much.

    Josef Roubal.

    PS: Mike R. please send your email addr.

  4. 4 kernunos
    January 10, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    I did 15 in 500 minutes,…wait I mean I took 510 minutes to make sure I had enough time. I am not sure what the big deal is. Not that hard at all.

  5. January 11, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Josef,

    It was a pleasant surprise to see that you´d posted on here!
    I´ll be sure to read your blog this week. There are a couple of tools you can use to promote your blog, and I´ll make a list and get them to you. Of course, nothing works like persistance and interesting ideas.

    I hope that your New Year is a pleasant one.

    Douglas

  6. 6 John
    May 25, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    510 squats. I’m in awe. After 30 my legs start to kill. How many did you start with originally? How did you scale up? Did you do sets?


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 148,670 hits

Flickr Photos


