30
Dec
08

The best military writer in the business agrees with me

Ralph Peters makes the same point I made in my previous article on Israel and Hamas: To end the terror, Israel must sweep Gaza with ground troops and commit to an aggressive, full-on invasion of the territory.

It won’t happen, but it should.

19 Responses to “The best military writer in the business agrees with me”


  1. December 30, 2008 at 11:23 am

    “In the real world, Israel must destroy, not just hurt its enemies.”

    The title of this blog is “The Political Realist”. So get real. Every time Israel kills one Palestinian, it creates a hundred new enemies dedicated to its destruction. Israel can easily win the “war” against the half-starved people of Gaza; and possibly it can even defeat Hamas. But that’s just at the moment. Israel’s enemies are becoming stronger and more numerous every day. Sooner or later the tide will turn. In fact it is beginning to turn already. And when it turns, Israel will be wiped off the face of the earth. And that will be a great day.
    I’m looking forward to it ; )

  2. 2 no2wars
    December 30, 2008 at 11:56 am

    And if it was your mother, sister, wife, child on the ground in Gaza living on 360 square miles of land? Would you still agree to a sweep?

  3. 3 no2wars
    December 30, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Im totally opposed to war – the starvation and bombing of Palestinians but ZAKMARTIN i totally totally disagree with your comment “Israel will be wiped off the face of the earth. And that will be a great day”. No it will not be a great day. It will be a tragedy for all of humanity. Just as the occupation and deaths of Palestinains is a tragedy for humanity.

  4. December 30, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    The Israelis aren’t looking for my mother, sister, wife or child. They’re looking for armed terrorists, who train with real guns and whose mantra is the destruction of a country smaller than Deleware. If the people you ask about were in that area, yes, I would feel concern for their safety. But Israel, just as Peters points out in his article, does not seek out innocent and unarmed civilians to kill. Hamas does, because that’s the only way terrorism can have an affect; kill as many “soft targets” as possible and sit back as the media does the work of spreading your message of victimhood.

    zakmartin, thank you for making it clear to the world what Israel is up against.It’s facsinating to me that people throughout history have maintained such a hatred of the jews for so many millenia. It’s almost like a sorceror’s spell. If the Arabs were to surrender all of their weapons, they could live peaceful lives. If Israel did the same, the would immediatey be attacked and destroyed.

    Did either of you read Peters’ article?

    If your argument is true,zak martin, than for every Nazi we killed in WWII we should have created a hundred. We should have lost that war. And please, no2wars: the very title of your blog is intellectually lazy, presenting an oversimplified version of the world. I’m sure you have good intentions, but it’s oversimplified nontheless. I may as well have a blog called: yes2richesANDfame. And it would just be so…

    Anyway, thanks for stopping by regardless of the differing points of view. I hope both of you have a great and peaceful New Year.

  5. December 30, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    “If somebody was sending rockets into my house where my two daughters sleep at night, I would do everything to stop that, and would expect Israel to do the same thing.” ~Barack Obama

    The president whom I assume both of you supported agrees with me, too.

  6. 6 no2wars
    December 30, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    What else can one expect from a solider. Your trained to think war war war….. shame real shame that the soldiers don’t have a conscience

  7. December 31, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    I’ve spent more time not being asoldier than being one, and I suspect I have more time dealing with real-world problems than you do. And don’t tell me what i’m trained to do. You have little idea, I’m sure. But I’ll tell you: From my previous and present job, I’m trained to see things from all sides. I’m trained to see a likely course of events. I’m trained to see reality–harsh and cold. Rose-colored glasses don’t stop bullets or Palestinians with bomb-vests.

    Ever led people out of a burning house? ever talked someone out of suicide? Ever had to pull dead bodies out of cars–dead teenagers? ever had to chase robbery suspects? ever had to tell a mother their son killed himself? I’ve lived enough in the real world to know there are no easy answers. But I still know right from wrong–no matter what country I live in and no matter what profession i choose. And I’ve put my life on the line to help people–not kill them. And most of the soldiers I work with know more about suffering than any narrow-minded blogger who reads Newsweek.

    Don’t tell me about conscience. You’re a hack pretending to be something you’re not. You don’t care about people dying in war. You care about your side. I’ve been to your blog–even though you hide your link on here. You’re an Arab ideaologue–not an anti-war protestor. You want Palestinians to have their own state–something their leadership has rejected, out of fear of letting their people out from under the cloak of victimhood.

    You want to help the Palestinians? Tell them to stop electing terrorists to lead them. Tell them to exit the Middle-ages. The world WILL welcome them. The West wants peace so much it’s willing to let itself be flayed. So go preach peace to YOUR people. I dare you. I’m all for peace.

  8. December 31, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    With all respects to your efforts for trying to save people and having to face mothers whose children have committed suicide or been killed. Not an easy job and it must be horrific no matter who is wearing the uniform and the flag on their arm. It is horrific and it must demand strength and courage.

    You wrote: “I’ve been to your blog–even though you hide your link on here”.
    I never hid my blog. Since Im fairly new to WordPress I didnt know that I had to add the URL to Users profile website. Admin cleared that up for me. I have nothing to hide. See if my link is working now if not let me know and i can contact admin again.

    You wrote: “You’re an Arab ideaologue–not an anti-war protestor. You want Palestinians to have their own state–something their leadership has rejected, out of fear of letting their people out from under the cloak of victimhood”.
    The Palestinian leadership didnt reject their own state they just didnt want the crumbs that were being passed around. I am against
    I am not pro-arab at all. Whats there to be pro-arab about? There is so much hell and human rights abuses.

    What concerns me is CONTEXT.

    Putting the attrocities in socio-political CONTEXT. Not look at the here and now but looking back and up to the present to try and figure out where we are today and how we got here.
    I am not interested in the CNN hype and FOX news or Rupert Murdoch or the talk of good vs evil or clash of civilizations.
    I read Truthdig. Watch Live in Baghdad, Real News Network, Democracy Now and Al Jazeera English. Did u see the link on my site to Democracy Now and the failure of the rebuilding of Iraq which was a waste of billions of taxpayers dollars? Or Web of Deceit on my blog? Watch it and let me know what you think.

  9. 9 kernunos
    December 31, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Billions are wasted even where civilization is successful. Your benchmark means nothing. Our welfare system and educational system in the U.S. are perfect examples of wasted billions. Your point with these articles are?

  10. January 1, 2009 at 11:57 am

    My point about what I’ve done was to defend against the alegation that soldiers have no conscience, and to show you that my views have been developed from seeing real violence, real love and real pain. It was NOT to present myself as a hero. I’m not a hero, but I do serve with many.

    But you should be concerned about the clash of civilizations. Have you read that book by Sam Huntington? I urge you too. He’s not “pro-war” or a military man. He’s an acedemic whom I think got it right, and my views are very close to his. I think culture trumps all–even religion–which is borne out of culture to a large extent. After thousands of years, we can look at most parts of the world and safely state that those parts are pretty much the same, culturally speaking, as they were then. Technology has of course improved many people’s lives.

    You recently started your blog. It seems fueled by the Israeli invasion. Where was your protest of the innocent Israelis killed by Hamas’ rockets for the last four years? Where was CNN, then?

    See, I don’t blog about the simple and obvious. That’s a waste of my time and other’s. I point out hypocricy. I point out errors in thinking. And those errors usually come from those who think too simply. “War is Bad”. Why would I write about such a simple and obvious thing? It’s better to point to over-simplified thinking and then to ponnder the tough issues. War happens to be a tough issue, and I write about it, but if you look over this blog you’ll see I write about many issues, not only war.

    But some can’t grasp this. They think–as you seem to–that because I say that Hamas must be eliminated by the Israelis–that all I know and think of is war, war, war. Foolish and too easy. I’d say your time would be better spent by telling the Arabs and Palestinians to stop using suicide bombers, to tell the Arabs to stop stoning their teenage girls for kissing boys, to stop making women be veiled concubines and slaves. THEN–the world won’t have to fight wars against the Arabs. Do you really think the Israelis will continue to attack the Palestinians or deprive them in anyway if the Palestinians stopped their senseless and religiously motivated suicide attackers? Israel is the only successful democracy in the middle east. Probably, it’s the only country that you would want to live in, in that area of the world. Am I wrong?

    See evil for what it is. Arab terrorists are evil. Even their legitimate problems are not worthy of the attrocities they commmit. the whole world wants to help the Arabs and Palestinians. They refuse the help and just keeping bombing. That’s all they know.

  11. January 2, 2009 at 12:00 am

    Yesmy blog is coloured by what Im following in the media. At the moment i can not rest until I dig out as much as I can about Israel and Palestinian conflict. I find it difficult to have a balanced view when I see the deatha nd destruction, and people I know have lost their families and neighbors. It’s difficult to know how to not be support the oppressed when I read right this minute that 420 people killed, 2000 wounded in Gaza after 5 days of air strikes. How do children react to this who have no military training like yourself and no help in dealing with the trauma.

    The Jeurusalem Post made a parallel to the military bomber jets heading towards Gaza as “swarms of loctus over Gaza”
    http://www.jpost.com/servlet/Satellite?cid=1230733138887&pagename=JPost%2FJPArticle%2FShowFull
    It is a frightening image.

    You mentioned the attacks by Hamas. The loss of Israeli life is no small matter. It is tragic and must not be accepted. In the past years under 20 people have been killed by homemade Hamas rockets. No more than that. So we have to look at who has the upper-hand.
    We must again look at who is the aggressor and who is the military might. Israels ground attack will fail because fighting in such a populated area with buildings all around is likely to have attacks on all sides. If they have managed to kill 50 Hamas soldiers already I promise you there will rise 50000 more because of these past attacks.

    Perhaps you ahve seen my post “Wipe Israel of the map?” – did you look at the map of Palestine in 1945 and the map of the same land today? Its horrible to see how a peoples land has been taken from them because of a Zionist dream

  12. January 2, 2009 at 7:52 am

    I’m sorry, but the Israeli attack would succeed. This is my job–I know a little about these things. Bring your people out of the dark ages, if you want to help them. Stop them from blaming everything on the rest of the world. They’re ways don’t work anymore. The world does not accept medieval practices and constant religiously motivated attacks on “The Great Satan”. The world will always fight with Islam because Islam is an aggressive religion.

    The Israelis will not produce “5000 more.” You believe the propaganda of those on similar blogs. The Arabs and Palestinians produce them on their own, that’s why the entire Western world is at war with them. Remember what I said about the Nazis? When we killed them in WWII, did we produce 5000 more dead anti-semites? Nope–sometimes you’ve got to break the will of your enemy and Hamas’ will must be broken. . It’s just the way it is.

    The war with Islam has been carried on for 1300 years–to blame the Israelis–a country as small as a large city–is foolish. I’m not going to sit here and justify everything done by the West to Islam. But don’t be so disingenuous as to ignore the Ottoman Empire–the largest Empire in history besides the Roman Empire. And how’d they get that empire–by killing and looting and converting people to Islam. Just like Muhammed told them to do in the Koran.

    At least you admit your bias.

  13. January 3, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    I didnt blame the war on Islam with Israel – have you been reading my posts??
    I guess you have just revealed yourself as an Islamophobe of the worst kind so I guess you enjoy your trips in blasting the innocent Iraqis just because of their religious background.

  14. January 3, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    “so I guess you enjoy your trips in blasting the innocent Iraqis just because of their religious background.”

    Hmmm–you lost your temper again. Words like that just show that little of the other things you’ve said have credit.

  15. January 5, 2009 at 4:15 am

    Don’t patronize me mongoose I mean Magus. You just have not been reading anything I have written – you are picking and choosing what you want.
    You are a military guy. Your daily bread comes from war, death, destruction and blood of innocent civilians. Oh yes you do an amazing job too (according to all the heroic episodes you have mentioned in your earlier posts) so we shouldnt forget that. A person who sleeps soundly at night after shooting civilians and calls it “self-defence” is seriously messed up.

  16. January 5, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    You’ve revealed your true nature, no2war. Thank you for the honesty.

    And yes, I do pick out the problems I see with what you’ve written.

  17. 17 kernunos
    January 7, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Hamas has brought this upon their own people. Face the facts. It is very simple to see. here in America we do not go and poke a big Grizzly Bear with a stick. We will end up with nothing but a bad day.

  18. January 9, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Of course USA just picks on all the weaker nations and threatens them with sanctions and occupation

  19. January 9, 2009 at 8:13 am

    And gives billions of dollars in aid to the rest of the world…and keeps third world nations from blowing each other off the face of the earth.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 148,077 hits

Flickr Photos


