06
Dec
08

PAM

He who seeth the abyss, but with eagle’s eyes,- he who with
eagle’s talons graspeth the abyss: he hath courage. ~ Friedrick Niezsche~ Thus Spake Zarathustra

No, not cooking spray. Possitive Aggressive Mental-Attitude.

I learned of this when reading some articles on how Navy SEALS deal with fear and stress. I’ve used it for over a decade now, and it works.

Here’s what it is: In any given stressful situation we must take action before action is taken upon us. In a fight, we never let our opponent come to us. To be defensive is to lose. Action beats reaction.

For instance, when I’m training or playing sports, mentally, I become very aggressive. My face and demeanor change. During physical training, I view the exercises as my way of giving the finger to the universe. The pain can’t beat me. No–I like the pain. Bring it.

Yesterday, I was at the gym. I vary my workouts quite a bit, from their intensity, duration and selection of exercises. Today, I decided I was going to have a tough leg day. Sitting in the Nautilus leg-press machine, I pinned the weight at 430 lbs and pressed out twenty medium-paced reps. I walked around for a few minutes then returned to the machine, increased the weight by twenty or so pounds and did fifteen more reps. Finally, ten reps with a little more weight. My legs were smoked, but I wasn’t done.

I walked, if a bit unsteadily to the treadmill. I wanted to run for at least 10 minutes, at a high clip. I haven’t been running regularly here in Germany, since I’m still in-processing. This and my bout with the leg press were going to make things tough.

Good.

The belt started rolling. Five minutes in I wanted to quite. There’s no use in denying it. My legs were smoked. Just stop, I thought–you’ve already had a good workout. But no. You’re a pussy if you stop now, Doug. You can’t go five more minutes? Think of all the incredible things people have done, and you can’t go five more? I forced myself to smile–that always works in times of stress–just laugh at the whole, ridiculousness of the situation. Six minutes in, and I was counting the seconds.

This run was mine. Physical training is me proving to Time and the Universe that they can’t win. I’m their master. All of the younger men here, that walk around looking hard–I’m harder. That’s what I tell myself.

The treadmill hummed to a halt. Ten minutes were up. I’d won.

Attack your life. Don’t let it attack you. Bring the fight to the enemy, and never, never,never give up.

1 Response to “PAM”


  1. 1 Mike Rozos
    December 6, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Sounds like a good education from my favorite university;

    School of the Soldier!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 148,085 hits

Flickr Photos


