22
Nov
08

No Sprechen

I arrived in Frankfurt, Germany yesterday. Because of the changes that are going on in Europe with US military bases, (we’re finally going to make the Europeans pay for their own defense), there was some confusion as to which base I would be stationed at; my assigned unit had changed bases.

Adjusting to the problems of living in a new country, and carrying the mother-load of jet lag, I was finally assigned a room here at the Sheraton Hotel in Frankfurt. My stay so far has been great. It’s a big change being “permanent party” army and “TRADOC” army. TRADOC can burn for all I care….

The weather and atmosphere in Germany are very agreeable to me. Everything that you’ve heard about Germans is true; they’re timely and the hotel and airport are immaculately clean. I went to the very bottom floor of the airport, where the supermarket is located. The long subterranean hallway struck me as amazingly clean–no gum wrappers, no dirt in the corners.

I’ll be enrolling in German classes that the army offers. I do know a bit of German, and for whatever reason it came to me much easier than Spanish did.

The army also offers weekly travelling arrangements that reach all across Europe. They have busses that pick soldiers and their families up, and bring them on tour rides to all the great historical spots in Europe. The train here in Germany also spans Europe, and I plan to make good use of it.

As of now, according to what I know while I’m sitting here writing this, I’ll be assigned to the 66th Military Intelligence Battalion, in Wiesbaden.

In the near future, I’ll be posting some pics of my ventures in Europe.

Gutten Tag.

3 Responses to “No Sprechen”


  1. 1 Kernunos
    November 22, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Good to know you made it there safely.

    German cars rock! Oh, maybe you could go and see a Frankfurt Galaxy game when their season starts.

  2. November 22, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Well homie, glad you got there in one piece. I was just over at the Nurburgring a few months ago, not a bad place to spend a few days if you can sneak off for some leave.

    Anyway man, if you get homesick for anything don’t hesitate to ask, i’d be more than happy to send some care packages.

  3. 3 Gene
    November 23, 2008 at 3:52 am

    Hey Doug,

    Glad to hear that you have finally made it to Germany. I know that you will enjoy Europe and hopefully you will have an opportunity to travel. The six years I was stationed in England and Germany has been the best of my career so far. Enjoy and keep in touch.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 148,085 hits

Flickr Photos


