03
Aug
08

They sure do try hard

I’ve got to give CNN credit for the hard work they put in, every day, to make their own country look bad. But they’re going to have to do better than the short piece they put out this morning, about American unpopularity abroad. To prove that the rest of the world hates America, they listed three countries and the percentage of people in those countries that view America in a positive light.

Which three countries you ask?

Pakistan, Jordan, and some other countries whose friendship would mean little. In all of these countries, the percentage of people that viewed America in a positive light was in the mid to high teens.

Wow. Groundbreaking.

I’m shocked that Pakistan, whose intelligence service helped created the Taliban regime and whose mountains most likely harbor the likes of Usama Bin Laden and Mullah Omar, wouldn’t hold America in high regard. I’m hurt too.

What did not shock me was that CNN failed to mention Obama’s huge gaff, committed earlier in the year. When he was asked what he would do if he knew that terrorists were being harbored inside Pakistan, Obama said that he would order Pakistan invaded by our troops.

Mr. Obama, there ARE terrorists being harbored inside Pakistan. But invading would probably be a very bad idea. I wonder what his statement did to improve our image with Pakistanis?

Yesterday, I spent eight hours in a cultural awareness class. As I sat there, trying to keep my eyes open, I wondered how many other armies of the world present cultural sensitivity courses as part of the training of all of their soldiers. Very few I’d dare say.

Supposedly Americans are viewed as arrogant and insensitive to other cultures. Really? Don’t buy it folks. It’s lefty propaganda again. There’s no other country that better integrates multiple cultures in every aspect of its nomenclature than the US. In the army, I’m surrounded by more people from other cultures than any army in the world–guaranteed. Iraqis, Afghans, Russians, here in our army, and welcome.

7 Responses to “They sure do try hard”


  1. 1 Mike Rozos
    August 4, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Excuse me, but if my recollection is right, how much love did 9/11 show for the U.S.? Was that our fault for invading Iraq?

    Oh, wait, we hadn’t done it yet.

    So what’s the excuse THIS TIME for hating America?

    Someone will always have an excuse for hating somebody.

    I don’t hate anyone. How do you explain my existence? Should I become hateful so I’ll register on a CNN poll?

    Liberals, please chime in, even though you probably reside here…

  2. August 4, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    I think a cultural awareness class would be better. You could learn some interesting things about the history, politics, stories, religion and social norms of other people. That could actually be interesting.

    That way you could say things like “Ibn Rushd presented a brilliant defense of Aristotelian philosophy against Al-Ghazali ‘s attack” when you meet a philosopher going house to house in Baghdad.

    I’ve only been to the two hour sensitivity training sessions. You should probably get some sort of pin for going through eight hours of that-assuming it is like what I had to go through.

    At the last one I went to, they made people “role-play” various situations, which was rather awkward and rather creepy. I’ll never get rid of the memory of one of my male colleagues being forced to use the phrase “brown sugar” (as in “I’d like to get me some of that”).

  3. 3 Mike Rozos
    August 4, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Hi Mike!

    Well, that’s a well-tempered opinion. Where is fanatic liberalism when you need it [for entertainment purposes]?

    Mike, regarding the ‘Diversity Class’,

    I’ve found that teaching racial and cultural tolerance is like teaching sales, or how to be a great teacher or professor. Some people already get it, and others just need an immense amount of time to get, or never will.

    I’ve grown my beard out in recent weeks and every day at the office I get, “You look like a terrorist.”

    I guess Gillette products fight terrorism.

  4. August 5, 2008 at 12:42 am

    Most cultural awerness classes amount to this:

    (Man with a deep and proper voice speaking)

    “Folks. Did you know that not all of the world’s people have white skin? AND, did you know that not all Muslims want to kill you? It’s ok if you didn’t, because many, many, people right here in America don’t. And, did you know its bad manner to shake hands with your left in the Middle East?”

  5. 5 Mike Rozos
    August 5, 2008 at 1:53 am

    I can only imagine that any xenophobic, homophobic, jingoistic, country redneck would probably want to beat your ass for shaking with your left hand, and then call you a Commie, Arab, Sissy, faggot, foreigner if you actually did that. Not that anyone ever does.

    So, what would the difference be in the Middle-Eastern reaction? We all know they’re not a bit xenophobic, homophobic, jingoistic, rural raised, out of touch, nor uncultured.

    In fact, they might just put down their teacups in unison and say, in their lightest London prose, “Well, never seen a left handed shaker before, maybe like something off Monty Python, eh?”

    “Quite funny, really!”

    Then have a good laugh, and go back to tea and poetry.

    Gotta love those diversity-minded Middle-Easterners.

  6. August 11, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    You should sue for facial harassment. It is your right to grow a beard and those who comment on it need instruction in respecting your right to remain unshaven (like a goat).

  7. 7 Mike Rozos
    August 12, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    I do hope that remark was only toward my resemblance to a goat, and not about the smell, habits, or other similarities to a goat which I may or may not possess.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 148,083 hits

Flickr Photos


