25
Jul
08

My Quest for the German Armed Forces Proficiency Badge

Today I signed up to participate in an event which could earn me the German Armed Forces Proficiency Badge. It is the only foreign badge awarded by the US Army and is highly sought after.

There are several events which I must pass through. I will be judged according to my moral and physical standards. The Sergeants here will evaluate my general performance here as a soldier, and then I will take part in a pentathlon-like series of athletic events. 2 mile run, 100m sprint, shot put, pistol shooting, first aid test, long jump, 16 mile ruck-march wearing 22 lbs, and high jump. The events will be spread out over several days. All of them are judged on a bronze, silver, gold scale with age adjustments.

Hopefully I have time to study up on the first aid portion. The Combat Life Saver 1 and First Aid test are part of it, which means I could be asked to do a saline lock ( IV). I was trained and had to do one in Basic, but I could use A LOT more practice.

Everyone say a prayer for me. I’m gonna do my best….

6 Responses to “My Quest for the German Armed Forces Proficiency Badge”


  1. July 25, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    You can do it. Remember, putting an IV in is just like stabbing someone…just with a tiny knife. Just don’t loot the body afterwards.

  2. 2 Mike Rozos
    July 26, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Forget emotion here and let’s use some good old fashioned logic:

    1. You’re good for a 12:09 on the run, at least.

    2. You’re even better at sprinting.

    3. You can throw a kettle bell well, so a shot put can only be easier.

    4. You shoot a pistol like Bill Jordan.

    5. With only 22 lbs. on your back you will be able to focus on speed rather than juggling weight on the march, or risking injury.

    6. The long jump also falls right within your skill area.

    7. The first aid is your only worry, yet is your best opportunity to engage your most overlooked skill to get a great rating:

    Age and treachery!

    Feel free to loot the body.

  3. July 26, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    “with age adjustments”? Pff!

    As for the IV…hope you don’t get nauseous like I do when I see one put in. I had to have one for my recent surgery – the nurse missed the vein the first time, even though it was standing out nicely – but all was well. I didn’t have my glasses on. πŸ™‚

  4. July 27, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    The age adjustments will give me the edge I need πŸ™‚

    I admit to being a bit nervous sticking someone with a 14 gauge needle the first time. As for myself getting stuck, I’m fine with it, I had surgery five times on my knees.

  5. March 4, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    there are wrong fact this is not
    “the only It is the only foreign badge awarded by the US Army” although still “highly sought after.” it is one on many.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 146,884 hits

Flickr Photos


