21
Apr
08

Signing off for a while

Oh, a storm is threat’ning
My very life today
If I don’t get some shelter
Oh yeah, I’m gonna fade away
War, children, it’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away

~Gimme Shelter, Rolling Stones~

 

I’ll be headed to basic training at Fort Jackson, Columbia Sc on this coming Tues. I’ll be there for 9 weeks, and then almost immediately I’ll head to Ft. Huachuca in Arizona for Intelligence Analyst School. Finally, two weeks jump school at Ft. Benning Ga.

I Probably won’t have much access to a computer or if I do, it will be for short periods. I’ll see if I can’t let everyone know how things are going.

While I’m there, I hope to to accomplish a few goals.

1) Max my physical fitness test. This means I’ll have to perform 77 pushups in 2 minutes, 82 situps in 2 minutes and run two miles in 13.00 min. Or there-abouts. I can easily do the pushups and situps. The run will be tougher but I’m confident I can pull it off. When I took the pre-basic test last month, I ran one mile in 6:10, so we’ll see. I’ve always had a high threshold for pain while running, which has always given me good times in timed events but I want to improve my conditioning.

2) Expert Rifleman Badge: Only two misses allowed on the scored rifleman test.

3) Stay healthy: Old guys like me need to stay healthy to compete with the young bucks. We don’t heal as fast. Of course, we’re not as stupid either.

4) Be a leader: There will be some kids right of of high school training with me. I think it’s a responsibility to set an example.

I want to thank everyone who has given encouraging words along the way. I had someone speak so kindly to me today, that it almost made me sniffle. Please keep me in your prayers and I’ll talk to everyone in a couple weeks.

The waiting is over. Let’s do it.

 

12 Responses to “Signing off for a while”


  1. 1 Candy
    April 21, 2008 at 2:09 am

    it has been a pleasure getting to know you… i wish you lots of luck… take care! 🙂

  2. 2 Avis
    April 21, 2008 at 11:08 am

    You will do awesome in basic. I like that you want to set an example for the kids who will be there. Take care of your knees!!! Push but not too much, you don’t want an injury. Make the very best of your time training and try to have fun. Keep your faith in God, he will get you through all, if you let him. You will be in my thoughts.

  3. April 22, 2008 at 1:35 am

    As I dropped him at Jacksonville MEPS with the other recruits this morning he looked like a major league baseball player standing next to a kids’ little league team.

    I think he could have single handedly walked around to each person at the MEPS and killed them with his bare hands, so I think they’ll be willing to follow, whether they like him, or not!

  4. 4 How You Doin Blondie
    April 23, 2008 at 3:01 am

    I’m going to miss our witty repartee. Hurry back, Doug 🙂

  5. April 29, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Good luck and God’s blessings. My brother is training to be an Air Force strike navigator; hope you do just as well in basic.

  6. 7 Mike Rozos
    May 29, 2008 at 2:56 am

    For those who care:

    Doug is currently a squad leader and is doing fine. He has some friction with the drill sergeants, but I suspect this due to dealing with inferior peers.

    PT score so far: 291

    Hoo-Rah!

    Get some, Doug!

    -Mikey

  7. June 4, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Found you too late 😦 oh well, good luck and all that jazz.

    I thought the chapter from your novel was brilliant.

    Much hope

  8. June 26, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Ouch. Everything hurts and I miss beer. But I’m alive and about to graduate (tomorrow). Hope to be in touch with everyone again. Drill Sergeants made me sad….

  9. June 26, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    You’re back!

    Congratulations, [almost] grad!

  10. June 27, 2008 at 12:02 am

    Same shit, different day.

    How’s it feel to be an [almost] certified bad ass?


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 148,693 hits

Flickr Photos


