04
Apr
08

Adventures in SC

I’m relaxing for a few weeks in Greenville, South Carolina, taking some time to gather my mind before Basic Training.

It’s been interesting so far. Yesterday, my friend Mike and I went to the local soup kitchen to help prepare supper. I met a guy named Bart. Bart and his wife are professionally trained French chefs. They donate their time and skills to the kitchen. Bart also happens to own a company that builds nuclear power-plants. I’ve told people before, that I know everything I need to know about a person within ten minutes of talking to them, and let me say that Bart is a humble, giving guy. It proved to me that most successful people are successful because they are giving people. You do as well as Bart has in life, in some part at least, because people like you.

So I cut vegetables for an hour or so, and learned some professional kitchen skills, like the proper way to cut carrots, dice onions and what the “Holy Trinity” is. (One part, carrot, one part onion, one part green pepper.) It’s the cornerstone of most cujun sauces and soups. The French use celery instead of green pepper, and use their own term for that, but it’s name escapes me now.

Then, today, while sitting the Coffee Underground in Downtown Greenville, I met a man named Fordy. Fordy is 82 years old, plays golf most every day and is a WWII veteran. He told me about his time in Europe during the War. He was pretty proud of the fact that he drove truck for Roadway for 32 years and has been retired for 24. We talked a bit about the US Presidency. He leaned close and whispered that he was for Hillary. I laughed, and told him that he better whisper.  Guess the Old-Timers will never get FDR out of their minds.

3 Responses to “Adventures in SC”


  1. 1 kip
    April 5, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Celery instead of green peppers? That’s just wrong!

  2. April 5, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I’d have to agree with you there. Actually, why not use both?

  3. 3 kip
    April 6, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I like that outside-the-box thinking.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 145,176 hits

Flickr Photos

Moke Lake

Lower Kentucky Falls (Mapleton, OR)

Glorious Morning

More Photos

